The origins of the werewolf myth All towns hold secrets, and the town of Campion is no different Eighteen year old Ash Copperheart is suffering depression after witnessing his best friend s death four years earlier Fearing for her son s mental health, Lily, accepts her boyfriend, Jude s, invitation and with an unwilling Ash moves to Campion to live with him They are leaving behind than bad memories, and there is one thing Ash doesn t want to let go It isn t long before things start to go wrong Jude is hiding an unusual secret, one Ash discovers in the disused outhouse At first sight it looks like an old, dirty, fur cloak But there is to it than meets the eye When Ash touches the cloak, he sees something inexplicable and terrifying Later, when the cloak disappears, he knows Jude has taken it Ash has a secret too he sees the earthbound dead, and that talent aids him in tracing the inhuman spirit attached to the cloak In the town of Campion a struggle is taking place between two men, between sanity and insanity, and between man and beast Whoever claims the cloak will gain the power of a creature belonging to myth But the creature is cunning and desperate to escape its imprisonment Is it manipulating Ash to gain its freedom, or does it have to offer the disillusioned young man Under night, when Mother Moon is full, emotions spill over Leave it alone, Ash The times you fear it is when it s telling you the truth Well developed characters and a haunting story that drags the reader in It was too descriptive for me, hence the 3 stars All in all though a must read As far as psychological thrillers go its a must read. A visceral, yet haunting werewolf story that s nothing like any other shapeshifter story I ve ever read This isn t the tale of an ancient, hierarchical society that s hidden in secret among humans for centuries oh, no These beings are few and far between, their bonds farspiritual and intangible than one made of blood The tale meanders through Ash s life, much as he drifts through it, until it reaches a murky end that paves the way for another book in the series If you like your werew A visceral, yet haunting werewolf story that s nothing like any other shapeshifter story I ve ever read This isn t the tale of an ancient, hierarchical society that s hidden in secret among humans for centuries oh, no These beings are few and far between, their bonds farspiritual and intangible than one made of blood The tale meanders through Ash s life, much as he drifts through it, until it reaches a murky end that paves the way for another book in the series If you like your werewolves mythical andinto killing than copulating though they do that, too , definitely pick this up I know I m definitely looking forward to the sequel I had to put the book down after reading through 60% of it it was freaking me out The writer pulls you in with a twisted mindplay that grabs hold of you and won t let go I kept wanting to knowbut was also so creeped out by what was unfolding I couldn t finish it, and am going to have to counteract it by watching a happy, fluffy movie Like a Stephen King. Wow where to start This was my first book to read from Gemma Farrow, and it certainly will not be my last I think I just found my new favorite horror author After a harrowing, haunting prologue, the reader is introduced to one Ash Copperheart a depressed eighteen year old who is recovering from seeing his best friend die He and mother Lily move in with her boyfriend, Jude, in Campion As they make their transition, Ash runs across Jude s secret, which mixes with his own secrets in a mos Wow where to start This was my first book to read from Gemma Farrow, and it certainly will not be my last I think I just found my new favorite horror author After a harrowing, haunting prologue, the reader is introduced to one Ash Copperheart a depressed eighteen year old who is recovering from seeing his best friend die He and mother Lily move in with her boyfriend, Jude, in Campion As they make their transition, Ash runs across Jude s secret, which mixes with his own secrets in a most horrifying way.The absolute beauty in this book is in the writing The descriptions are so lush and full, reminding me heavily of the way Stephen King or Dean Koontz goes about handling description The characters came across as real people with real problems just trying to live life, yet caught in the supernatural paranormal horrific world I am also glad to know it is a trilogy and that we will get to seeof this world in the future I highly, highly recommend this novel for fans of Stephen King and Dean Koontz, as well as fans of paranormal and supernatural horrors You will not be disappointed I really enjoy the way Gemma Farrow builds a haunting story for her readers and found this to be a very addicting read The story draws you into the darkness with well developed characters and descriptive settings Following Ash through his discoveries was perfectly scary and fun. Copperheart RoadTroubled eighteen year old Ash and his mother Lily move in with Jude Sometimes Ash believed Jude felt his difference, a complicated expression would cross his face, or his words would be clipped instead of their usual lightness There were occasions where he would catch Jude watching him It always made Ash wonder whether his dad had given him similar contemplating looks Other times, like now, Jude treated him as casually as his mum, Mr Danton, and Chicken George Some people Copperheart RoadTroubled eighteen year old Ash and his mother Lily move in with Jude Sometimes Ash believed Jude felt his difference, a complicated expression would cross his face, or his words would be clipped instead of their usual lightness There were occasions where he would catch Jude watching him It always made Ash wonder whether his dad had given him similar contemplating looks Other times, like now, Jude treated him as casually as his mum, Mr Danton, and Chicken George Some people didn t react at all They didn t seem to sense anything emanating from him Mr Danton and Chicken George were examples His mum knew something wasn t right, it hadn t been for a long time, but she couldn t trade a psychological problem for a psychic one There were no such things as ghosts Gemma Farrow s Copperheart The Disenchantment Trilogy Book 1 is full of spine tingling secrets Ms Farrow gives the reader clues, using her unique brand of excellent foreshadowing Ms Farrow is also the author of the short work Beneath the Willows, a horror story Creepy and cerebral.A contemplative, old school style horror dark fantasy tale Slower paced than most modern works, with a building, pervasive tension Invokes the fear of the unknown with great skill Incredibly originality Is this a werewolf tale A tale of demonic possession Something else entirely Whatever it is, it doesn t disappoint I enjoyed this book, and look forward to the sequel. Like BENEATH THE WILLOW, Ms Farrow adopts the perfect pace to build suspense in this psychological thriller An old fur is discovered by Ash Copperheart, a young man who is desperately trying to overcome his psychic disturbances His mother has brought him to Campion for a fresh start, but he can t find work and he falls in with unsavory friends And he fur entices him, while he fights against the only person who understands his growing compulsion.I m not a horror fan, but Ms Farrow offers so Like BENEATH THE WILLOW, Ms Farrow adopts the perfect pace to build suspense in this psychological thriller An old fur is discovered by Ash Copperheart, a young man who is desperately trying to overcome his psychic disturbances His mother has brought him to Campion for a fresh start, but he can t find work and he falls in with unsavory friends And he fur entices him, while he fights against the only person who understands his growing compulsion.I m not a horror fan, but Ms Farrow offers so muchthan action scenes Showing great empathy for her characters, Ms Farrow deftly explores the personal misfortunes that have molded the characters that enter Ash s life To say , I might be revealing too much of the plot